In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

UPDATE Help with shot shell loading

NateNate Member Posts: 168 ✭✭✭
I could some advice on what is happening while crimping shot gun shells on a MEC 650n. This is my first time reloading shot shells.
First of all the load I am using is:
Win AA hulls
Win 209 primers
7/8 oz #8 shot
Win WAA 20 wad
Unique powder 15 grains

I have checked the weight of the powder and shot dispensed and they are accurate.

Below is a picture of after the wad is set and the shot is dispensed:
priortocrimp.jpg

After the first crimp stage:
aftercrimp1.jpg
It seems like the shot is too high in the hull at this point.

After the second crimp:
aftercrimp2.jpg
Usually there is a piece or two of shot that falls out at this stage.

On the left is the shell that I loaded and on the right is a factory:
withfactory.jpg
Note the shot stuck in the crimp.

I have tried to adjust the crimp, this is the best crimp I have been able to get. The shell is very close in length to the factory.
Also tried adjusting the wad pressure but that has not helped at all.

What am I missing here?

Thanks for your time.

UPDATE
The shells I am loading are the HS AA's.

Bambambam hit the nail on the head with cut the case open and see what is going on. I cut the shell open that I loaded, did not see the wad hung up on the hull base but it was not touching the hull base. Since this is my first time inside of a shotgun shell I decided to open up a factory Win AA and see what it looked like.
The wad was down into the hull base on the factory shell, so I pulled to two the rest of the way apart and found that volume of powder in the factory shell was much smaller than in my reload.
I weighed the two different powders and found that they were close to the same weight (within a grain).