In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading success...finally...

McDAccountantMcDAccountant Member Posts: 466 ✭✭
I've been reloading for a little over six months. Started out with 38 Special and moved into rifle reloading...30-06, since that's the only loadable rifle I own. I've had lots of fun trying different loads but never really nailed down a truly accurate load...most of my reloads usually shoot groups of a couple of inches or so at 100 yards.

Well, I think I've finally done it!

I was looking for a light load for turkey hunting with my 30-06 (its legal to use a rifle for turkey here in West "By God"...), something that was accurate out to 100 yards but wouldn't blow the turkey to smithereens. After having shot my FIL's Winchester 25-20 last fall, I thought something like that would be a blast to go after gobblers with...86 gr. bullet/~1600 fps. Being that all 30-06 loads on the market are extreme overkill for what I wanted, I knew I was going to have to come up with something on my own. So, late last spring after gobbler season, I started experimenting.

I started off with 110 gr. bullets and minimum loads from several different sources. I quickly realized that I couldn't get very good accuracy out of the 110s and that, even at minimum load, that was going to leave nothing but a big hole and/or a pile of feathers on anything other than a head/neck shot.

So I tried some 150 gr. bullets with publised reduced loads. I got pretty good accuracy on this attempt, but still, there wouldn't be anything left but a big hole/pile of feathers if I hit the body of a turkey.