In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

45 acp and a new press

uni82uni82 Member Posts: 416 ✭✭
Ok here we go. I have 2 posts up regarding expander dies and an automatic press. So this is a question to combine the two.

5 stage press

45 acp stages of reloading
1. size
2. expand mouth
3. prime
4. charge
5. bullet seat
6. crimp

I will be purchasing a 5 stage press but there are 6 stages for 45 acp reloading? How do other people do it?! hahaha

I think that the expansion die and the prime happen in one stage. Am I correct?

I am VERY new to straight walled case reloading. I will be competing in IDPA shortly and need to volume and make accurate rounds. Thanks for all your help. I apoligize if these questions are ameatuer but that is what I am. I want to soak it all in.

Thanks for all your help!

-JD

Comments

• geeguygeeguy Member Posts: 1,047
    edited November -1
    Most do the round in 4 stations:

1. Size and remove old primer.
    2. Expand, prime, load powder.
    3. Insert bullet.
    4. Final crimp.

"If" you have more stations available I would recommend the Lee Final Size/crimp die. If you do not, I would still run the final crimp die in a single press, saves a lot of problems.

Best of luck
  • uni82uni82 Member Posts: 416 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    awesome thanks, as I said. Im a Newbi!!!

-JD
  • NavybatNavybat Member Posts: 6,849 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I do the round in 4 stations as well:

1) Size and deprime on downstroke, reprime on upstroke.

2) Flare mouth, powder.

3) Seat bullet

4) Crimp

I use a Lee Classic Turret Press and Lee dies, including factory crimp. Works great.
  • 243winxb243winxb Member Posts: 264 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Same as Navybat, but using an early Dillon RL450
    [url] https://saami.org [/url]
  • v35v35 Member Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1