In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

.357 & 38 special primers

Emmett DunhamEmmett Dunham Member Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have been reloading for a few years and every time I put together some .357 or 38 special ammo I get some misfire and they are full of powder so it has something to do with primer strike. I have a .357 that has had a trigger job and thought that that was the problem but now I have two other revolvers that 2 in about fifty rounds will not light off. Everything looks good the primers are flush, the case looks good and I have tried at least three different primer types. I need some ideas on what I can do to get consistent primer stricks.

Emmett

Comments

• Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    So how are you priming and with what tool? Make sure your hands are free of oil when touching primers. Don't crush the primers when seating them. Do you scrape the primer pockets every time? WD40 will kill ammo. Try some primers from a different store. It could be the pistols. Try some cheap factory ammo in them.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I am priming these in a Rock Chucker but I have used a Dillon in the past with the same results. I don't use any type of lubracant and the brass is clean. I have not reloaded a ton of this ammo and maybe I need to start keeping track of what I am doing with the primers and see if I can find a good mix. I am also going to take a better look at the rounds that failed to fire and see if I missed something.

Emmett
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would still suspect a light firing pin strike. Bad primers are very rare. What kind of primers are you using, how are they stored?
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390