In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Lubricating and sizing a .58 minie ball

reindeerreindeer Member Posts: 129 ✭✭✭
I have a Lyman 4500 lubrisizer and am a novice. I bought it to lube .45-70 bullets. I need to lube up about 100 minie balls for a public outreach event. I am tired of doing it be hand and would love to lube them on the Lyman but could not find a h&i die big enough for the minie. Can anyone out there help me find the solution to yet another shooter's problem. Thanks, reindeer

Comments

• Options
    eastbankeastbank Member Posts: 4,215
    edited November -1
    just put a little crico in the hollow base and shoot away, i use a lyman hollow base 575213 mini ball mold. about 60-65grs of 3f for 1000-1100 fps. eastbank.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I am a novice to the lubrisizer, not b/p. I only lube the grooves, keep the base dry, and use 45 grains of ffg. Plenty of whoosh and not to much push. Now, what can you tell me about where to get .578 dies for the lyman 4500? Thanks and keep on whooshing. reindeer
  • Options
    edited November -1