In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

? about Rem 700 BDL in 338 mag

varianvarian Member Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭✭
have a rem 700  .338 mag that someone converted to a detachable magazine.  what parts do i need to buy to put it back to a factory configuration.  are the parts for a regular long action (30-06)  the same as a magnum cal.    also wanting to buy a replacement stock, is a standard long action stock the same as a magnum stock? thanks.

Comments

• Horse Plains DrifterHorse Plains Drifter Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 39,347 ***** Forums Admin
    I'll offer what help I can, but I'm far from an expert on this stuff. A standard long action BDL hinged floor plate and magazine box should work just fine. You might need a "magnum" follower, 7mm, 300, 338, but I'm not sure on that. They made a version (CDL?) that had a detachable magazine. As far as the stock, every 700 magnum I saw had a cross bolt through the stock behind the recoil lug. Also, as far as I am aware, magnums have a heavier barrel contour. The stock will need a corresponding barrel channel, so a standard chambering 30-06/270 type stock won't work. 
  • toad67toad67 Member Posts: 13,019 ✭✭✭✭
  • nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    varian said:
    have a rem 700  .338 mag that someone converted to a detachable magazine.  what parts do i need to buy to put it back to a factory configuration.  are the parts for a regular long action (30-06)  the same as a magnum cal.    also wanting to buy a replacement stock, is a standard long action stock the same as a magnum stock? thanks.
    We have part of the answer above except for the DBM conversion on your rifle.