In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Legality of selling a AR-15 handgrip and value of it

cyajaycyajay Member Posts: 2

I live in NJ and would like to sell a hand grip for a AR-15. Are there any legal issues with selling such a gun part online? Do I need any licenses? Do I need to verify any information from the buyer?

Also what's the value of such a grip? It's from Ronin Factory and I believe it's aluminum

Comments

• chmechme Member Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭✭

I am not a lawyer (more importantly, I am not YOUR lawyer) having said that, legally the RECEIVER is the firearm- everything else is parts- and are not regulated the way a firearm is. It does not require a license to sell, gift, trade, buy or crochet one. The only thing you need to verify is that the buyer has the money. I would not engage in sales outside the US.

as far as values- I have no clue. What did you pay for it?

• dunbarboyzdunbarboyz Member Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭✭

I have seen MSRP as high as $100.00.

• mac10mac10 Member Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭✭

nope have at it

• competentonecompetentone Member Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭

New Jersey has some of the most restrictive firearm laws in the country. They regulate "as firearms" items that do NOT meet the Federal law definition of "a firearm"; I'm not aware of them currently regulating anything like your pistol grip, but if you check with major retailers who are selling similar grips (it doesn't need to be the same brand), so long as they don't have small-print notes on the item saying they cannot ship it to NJ, it will probably mean that it is not regulated by your state, and you're fine to sell yours without any concerns you might be doing anything illegal (in the state of NJ).

• cyajaycyajay Member Posts: 2

Ok thanks for your responses

• mohawk600mohawk600 Member Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭✭