In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Deciding to stop using lemi-shine....

So after realizing that just a smidge to much of that stuff can really start to eat at your brass I have decided to stop using it.

Nobody cares what your brass looks like. At least not like they care what your groups look like...I worry also that if there is some residue from lemi-shine left in a case that is fired in the gun that stuff may end up in my bore and if I don't get to use it right away...well?

Experienced opinions welcomed.

Comments

• TXBryanTXBryan Member Posts: 26 ✭✭

I've been reloading for 47 years and went "wet" only a couple years ago with stainless pin media, Lemi-Shine and Simple Green. I love the way it cleans the primer pockets and the inside of the cases but it is considerably more complex and labor intensive than a vibratory cleaning with corn cob media. I would think that if you are rinsing the cleaned brass with fresh water after tumbling is completed the residue of Lemi-Shine in the cases would be minimal and likely of no consequence. Lemi-Shine functions largely as a water softener and surface tension reducing agent so it "should" rinse pretty clean leaving little to no residue. If in doubt perhaps a good double, or triple rinse, with clean water should do the trick. Agree there's something interesting about Lemi-Shine. If I run nickle-plated and regular brass together the nickle plated comes out with a blueish cast. Leave the Lemi-Shine out and that doesn't seem to happen.