In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Posting Pictures with Serial Number On It.

antiglockguyantiglockguy Member Posts: 16

I'm new to Gun Broker, and I'm kinda of concern of posting pictures of my handguns with the serial number expose. Is this a no- no? Should I cover them or let it be to gain buyers confidence? I'm also an non licensed seller, I just wan to take the safe route.

Comments

• Horse Plains DrifterHorse Plains Drifter Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 39,309 ***** Forums Admin

Well, there are two thoughts on that. There are those like me who say post up the s/n. Then there is the group that thinks that if you post the s/n somebody is gonna see it and call the cops, and say "that guy stole my gun".

• GrasshopperGrasshopper Member Posts: 16,704 ✭✭✭✭

I post mine. If someone makes a claim, which has never happened to me they better have a great papertrail to prove that it is theirs. I would say offhand that if it makes you feel better cover that last two and then if a prospective buyer is interested as when the item was made that would be enough to tell them. imo only.

• BobJudyBobJudy Member Posts: 6,445 ✭✭✭✭

Personally I would be concerned if the serial # is hidden. Is the seller just being cautious or does he have something to hide? You didn't mention long guns but some of those, like the mod12 Winchester, have the serial number both on the action and the barrel assembly. A collector does not want a mismatched cobbled together example so showing those numbers is a must. Bob

• nunnnunn Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 35,988 ******

If it's mine, I show the serial number, and even state it in the item description.

I do accept consignment items from one client who does not want the serial numbers on his guns published. I respect his wishes and only show a partial number.