In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Sinter fire bullets

SnackmanSnackman Member Posts: 1
edited February 2023 in General Discussion

Does anyone use these? I bought them because they have a higher velocity, not knowing at the time what materials were used in making the bullets. Are they more abrasive on a gun barrell than conventional rounds?

Comments

• Ruger4meRuger4me Member, Moderator Posts: 3,312 ******

Welcome to the GB forums, I moved your post to here in General Discussion since it doesn't belong in the other forum where you posted it. SinterFire, Inc makes lead-free projectiles. I do not know much more about them but a web search will probably give you more information and possibly some of our members have used them...

• Gregor62Gregor62 Member Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭✭

I used to work in the sintered metal industry, and it is a powder metal process that is basically mixed and baked. What the manufacturer chooses to put in the soup will designate a desired alloy with function specific properties. If the materials list in the projectile recipe includes a copper mixture it should be safe for the gun barrel.

I have no knowledge or first hand experience with sintered projectiles, nor the intent to use them. Good luck with your inquiry.

• Gunnut358Gunnut358 Member Posts: 331 ✭✭✭✭

I'm not familiar with that particular brand, but isn't that the same process used for Barnes Varmint Grenade bullets, other than the Barnes version having a regular jacket? As far as I know, it's a copper and tin mix, so I wouldn't think it would be any more abrasive than conventional bullets.

I can tell you that a 36gr .224" Varmint Grenade fired from a .220 Swift will not only make your chronograph question reality, but will also make you wonder if the gopher you just shot even existed to begin with.😲