In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Braid line question

Huntingnerd33Huntingnerd33 Member Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited March 2007 in The Fishing Hole!
I'm going to buy some braid line, most likely either Stren Super Braid or Berkley Fireline. I'll be pretty much fishing for walleye and bass, I'll be using it on both spinning and baitcasting reels. I'm debating between 14, 20, and 30 lb line. Of those three which would be the best multi-purpose weight of the three? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• stevenrayspeckstevenrayspeck Member Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I am not a expert fisherman, But i think that the 14 pound line should be fine for walleye and bass.
  • MN HunterMN Hunter Member Posts: 2,299 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    if you go braided...look into POWER PRO. ive tried them all twice, and so far IMO its performed the best (without question)

as a matter of fact, i have some on my ice fishing pole..which i used strictly for northern/walleye this winter. never used a leader..never broke/"bit" my line..never lost a fish.

you gotta remember that when buying braided, if you want 30lb strength it will be in the 8-10lb diameter.. you get 30lb dia braided...your looking at something in the 100lb range.

best of luck.
  • Huntingnerd33Huntingnerd33 Member Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by MN Hunter
    if you go braided...look into POWER PRO. ive tried them all twice, and so far IMO its performed the best (without question)

as a matter of fact, i have some on my ice fishing pole..which i used strictly for northern/walleye this winter. never used a leader..never broke/"bit" my line..never lost a fish.