In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Need help with picking out a starter up Fly setup.

predator_hunterpredator_hunter Member Posts: 32 ✭✭
edited July 2006 in The Fishing Hole!
I am new to fly fishing. I live where Norfork river runs into White river in Arkanasa. And the trout fishing is great. We have browns rainbows brooks and cutthroat trout and can fish yr around. I am looking at a 5wt rod and reel with weighted floating line. I have look at the
rod
Orvis Streamline 8'6 5wt rod
St. Croix 9'0 5wt
Scott 9'0 5wt used
Drake Big Horn 9'0 5wt
G Loomis 9'0 5wt used
reel
Scientific Anglers concept 2
56LA
model 456
Ross Flycast2
Scientific Anglers Fly line WF5F
IF anybody fly fishes and can help me out. I will take all the help i can get thanks PH

Comments

• hedgehopper62hedgehopper62 Member Posts: 636 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Hello
    I fly fish and am not a expert will be doing more this fall in your area.as i winter in camden ar. have a friend int the area of the white river by mt. home.have used the st croix and like them i use a 5 level its a old combo from eagle claw in a alum.tube i got in the 60's.tks hedge
  • elkoholicelkoholic Member Posts: 5,130
    edited November -1
    I do lots of fly fishing and I am very partial to Scott Rods and Ross Reels. I worked in the Ross Reels repair department in high school, great stuff, great people. The Scott factory is also located here in town, non better. My favorite setup is a Scott 3pc 5wt and a Ross G-2. The best part is that both companies will warranty the product even if you pick it up used.

Good Fishing.
  • HollywoodHollywood Member Posts: 686 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1