In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

I'm ashamed of the sixties and seventies

BigoledudeBigoledude Member Posts: 39
edited November 2009 in US Military Veteran Forum
I remember the riots and demonstrations. A flower-child teacher hating me because I played football. I graduated in 1972.

During that time it was fashionable to hate the men of the military. But, every time I would see a soldier in uniform, I would feel so proud for him and of him. It's almost like I was expected to opposed them but, I just couldn't bring myself to join the world in their contempt of these heroes.

As I got older I would approach every service-man in uniform I saw and wish the best for him and thank him for what he was doing.

Now, the gratitude and respect I have for these young people nearly overwhelms me when I meet them. If this sounds over-dramatic, so-be-it.

My wish is for many blessings for you great men who served in Viet Nam! My four sons are grown now and, I never missed an opportunity, as they were growing up, to tell them as much as I know about the magnitude of y'all's service and sacrifices.

I am now teaching the oldest of my 10 grand children about these heroes in uniform. God bless and keep each and every one of you!

Comments

• dheffleydheffley Member Posts: 25,000
    edited November -1
    Thanks Bigoledude. For the most part, we know the anger and disapproval was towards the war and not towards the soldiers. Still, your remarks are appreciated.
  • sgc_1sgc_1 Member Posts: 1 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    First let me say thanks.