In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Draft

tapwatertapwater Member Posts: 10,335 ✭✭✭
edited March 2006 in US Military Veteran Forum
When did the draft end? I can't recall what my number was, but it wasn't good. I graduated HS in '74, so I got a free pass on Nam. It's an odd thing...I'm glad that I didn't have to go, but somehow wish that I had.
The daily news: I was never into sports scores, but the daily body count was inspiring...no matter that it was pretty much made up....[V]...Anyway, thanks guys.

Comments

• Rebel_JamesRebel_James Member Posts: 4,746
    edited November -1
    I was supposed to graduate HS in '71, but had a little encounter with a back surgeon, (spinal fusion), and didn't graduate till '72.

I'd registered for the draft in '71 like I was supposed to. Somehow, they learned about my spinal fusion, and classified me 4F. I was so ashamed. I felt like it was my fault.

Law Enforcement wasn't as strict on physical condition as the military, so I 'served' in that capacity.
  • dheffleydheffley Member Posts: 25,000
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by Rebel_James
    I was supposed to graduate HS in '71, but had a little encounter with a back surgeon, (spinal fusion), and didn't graduate till '72.

I'd registered for the draft in '71 like I was supposed to. Somehow, they learned about my spinal fusion, and classified me 4F. I was so ashamed. I felt like it was my fault.

Law Enforcement wasn't as strict on physical condition as the military, so I 'served' in that capacity.

4F has as much honor as anything else. You were willing, they were protecting you and others because if you back had failed at a critical moment, many good men including you could have died.
  • dlrjjdlrjj Member Posts: 5,528 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by EhlerDave
    Okay what is 4f?