In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Lam Sahn 719

joker19joker19 Member Posts: 110 ✭✭
I was a UH-1C gunship pilot in with the 282nd Blackcats (Alleycat guns)in Da Nang when I was notified by my Commander I was selected to move to the 48th Bluestar (Joker Guns) who were set up in tents at Dong Ha. We flew daily through the Rockpile on to Vandergrif and staged out of Khe Sahn for flights into Laos. Our Guns supported lifts of south Vietnam troops into LZs located deep into that rotten country and were under basically constant fire from ZSU-23s, .51, and small arms fire. Our sister Unit also at Dong Ha was the 173rd AHC Robinhoods (Crossbow gunships.) Some of the more notorious Gunships of the Jokers were "God of Hellfire" and "Brother Loves Traveling Salvation Show.) Anyone out there remember these units, were in these units......love to hear from you!

Comments

• krawiechkrawiech Member Posts: 135 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    in 1966 i was stationed in pleiku the 282 acquired our personnel under there company this happened in july or august or possibly september thats when i rotated back to the world welcome home have you gone to the 282 website they are having a reunion in atlantic city nj in the late spring early summer in 2011 hank k
  • Jim RauJim Rau Member Posts: 3,550
    edited November -1
    I arrived in Da Nang in January 71 and went to the 212th CAB and flew as the gunner on the CO's bird until just before 719 started and was transferred to the 282nd. I got in on the tail end of 719 with the 282nd. My Platoon Sgt. was SFC Grundum, we both got in hot water with the CO of the 282nd ( a grade A+ AH) and I got send to Chu Lei to the 71st AHC in April or May, just after the 122 hit our hooch. When did you DEROS?
    edited November -1