In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Perhaps a dumb question

cercer Member Posts: 826 ✭✭✭✭
edited March 2014 in US Military Veteran Forum
I'm a combat Marine vn vet, and have a question:
if a friend or family member dies do you greive for a week or more, or does your memory of them kinda fade, like " someone you didn't know"?
I'm kinda checking if i'm different.

Please no smart answers, this is serious for me.

Comments

• elubsmeelubsme Member Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    My Dad passed 35 years ago and I still tear up when I think of him.
  • 11echo11echo Member Posts: 1,007 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I lost a close friend I made when I first got in my unit. He ETS out after about 10 months, I was heading home on leave about that time. I joked "I'd beat him home"! And he'd come back ..."Yea but you have to come back here"! When I did come back I learned he had drown saving his brother ...that was almost 40 yr.s ago, I remember him to this day! His passing left a big hole, you learn to get around it ...but it never goes away ...at least for me.
  • cercer Member Posts: 826 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The reason I ask this question is I lost my ability to love, hate, laugh, and other emotions.
    Maybe the drugs the VA has me taking, has killed my ability to care about most anything. my wife says I a cold blooded sob
  • dheffleydheffley Member Posts: 25,000
    edited November -1
    Friends seem to ease as time passes, and I can think about them or talk about them without excessive emotion.

Family and loved ones, or the really tragic deaths I witnessed never seem to loose the emotional impact, although i can now talk about my two son's deaths, I still feel the deep emotions, and when everyone has left the room, I still tear up.
  • 11b6r11b6r Member Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭