In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

gunsmith needing a job

nagant50nagant50 Member Posts: 14 ✭✭
edited November 2009 in US Military Veteran Forum
I am college educated gunsmith and a Veteran. I went to murry state jr college in OK. I have a associates degree in gunsmithing and I can do a lot of different things but my favorite is to restore old guns back to their former glory. I can color case harden and I really like doing that the colors you get from that process are so cool. I can do blueing too and like that process also. I can do slow rust blueing and belgium blueing too. I can work on stocks and barrels. I am reaching out to my fellow gun enthuist to help me find a job in gunsmithing I am willing to relocate for the job any help will be appreciated contact me at rpurcella38@yahoo.com I am currently living in north carolina in a little town called hertford
thank you

Comments

• Options
    SpotterSpotter Member Posts: 74 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I was wondering if you tried a on-line weapon repair/etc. business or even a 'gunshow/swapmeet' business. The idea is the for the average joe to bring you what he couldn't fix or maybe what he wants to do but lacks the skill. I noticed 'smiths in my area are awfully fond of telling what you need rather than what you want and are happy to charge you plenty for it.

I have zero 'smith training other than watching DVD's and handling my own weapons but I do a fair amount of business fixing other peoples hobbies gone wrong. I imagine you'd make some money and if you keep it affordable with perhaps some specialty work you'd might do well.

Before I get crucified by all the legal types, I'm sure you will do your research before you take my ideas to heart. Good luck.
  • Options
    BergtrefferBergtreffer Member Posts: 629 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1