In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

the Wannabees...but NeverWillBees

Leatherneck75Leatherneck75 Member Posts: 19 ✭✭
Note: I meant to post this to the "Fake Ranger" thread...not sure what happened. No Bill Gates am I.

So many of these clowns have been busted wearing medals for valor. It used the be the Medal of Honor, but in an effort to fly under the radar, they have downsized to Navy Crosses, Silver Stars, DSCs, etc.

While on recruiting duty in the Marine Corps, I was amazed at the ones who would tell me Vietnam stories. I would ask their units and they would give me some unit that never left the States...like they didn't think I would know (and I wasn't even in Vietnam--that ended the month I graduated high school). Of course, as long as they bought they drinks, I would patiently nod and smile...

There is something wrong with these folks, something missing in their lives. When the Vietnam Wall was erected, you would have thought that everyone who served there was Ranger, SF, SEALS, Force Recon, etc. Where were the guys who drove trucks, cooked the chow, etc.? I recently heard someone say, "There were about 30,000 SEALS in Vietnam, and I have met all 300,000 of them."

Every job is important, as long as it is honest work. The infantryman can't do without the supply guy, the tanker can't do without the refueler, etc. Anyhow, they are pathetic and to be pitied.

Comments

• rawhide54rawhide54 Member Posts: 432 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    If I remember correctly, the ratio is 13 to 1 for support troops for every combat soldier/Marine. Kind of skews the odds against all of those claiming to be combat arms let alone having served in elite units.