In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Body Armor-

J 1357J 1357 Member Posts: 283 ✭✭✭
Ok, first, I'm an old school army officer. My question is this. By the press and media and military advertisements, we are supposed to have the best trained and best equipped armed forces in the world. So
you guys go out there with all that fire power and get your * kicked by some rag heads. Rag heads with no body armor, a rifle and maybe an rpg.
How the hell can you fire and manuver, carrying all that weight? Wearing 40 pounds of body armor must make it hell, in an individual
hand to hand fight.
Last year, I watched a NBC news take by Richard Engle, in Afganistan.It was a fire fight, with the taliban. Engles hiding behind a wall, switch to a machine gunner firing 20,30, hell 40 round bursts. Switch to the end of the fight, Engle shows about six bullet hits in a wall. Supposedly 10-12 taliban attacked them. So, this platoon fires up thousands of rounds of ammo, supposedly has mortars, fires them. No enemy killed. Platoon goes back on the same
trail they came in on.
This little excerpt for the news, reaked of a set up, for the camera.
If it was real, I would have fired the platoon leader for being inept, I would have replaced the machine gunner for lack of fire discipline and where in the hell did a platoon of infantry get mortars?
All the firepower in the world didn't allow us to win in Vietnam. Why?
because the VC and the North fought for a cause, to them, worth dying for. No body armor, no air force, just plain guts. ya, have to respect people like that.