In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Help Please - I'm Confused!

p0nzan0p0nzan0 Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
Hi:

I am a resident of Monmouth County, NJ (and new to this, so please forgive me if I've posted to the wrong forum). I've never owned or fired a waepon in my life, but now find myself in a real state of confusion.

While doing some work on my family tree, I discovered that my maternal grandfather served in an Italian Alpine regiment from 1905 to 1907. While going through his papers, I found a record of his firearms training and saw that he was issued an 1891 Carcano (standard, not carbine) that was manufactured in Turin in 1895 (I even have the serial number). Consequently, I thought that it'd be kinda nice to purchase an 1891 Carcano as close to that description as possible. I'd like to restore it cosmetically, if needed, make up a plaque, and then hang it up in my den. I don't care if it's functional or not since I have no plans to even attempt to fire it. As a matter of fact, I'd even prefer if it was non-functional!

I went to the ATF site, and, given their guidelines, it would appear that this rifle qualifies as a true antique: it was manufactured before 1898, it's a bolt action, and it's ammunition (6.5x52) is not commercially available (at least I believe that it's not commercially available). This being the case, I assume that I wouldn't need the services of someone with an FFL, or even a C&R in order to purchase it and have it shipped to me directly.
OK so far.

I then checked with the New Jersey State Police, and spoke with a couple of detectives in their firearms division. After describing the situation to them, they were in agreement that the rifle was indeed an antique, and that purchasing it and having it shipped to me was virtually no different from buying a golf club or pick-axe.
OK so far.