In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Factory Ammo?

Late-BloomerLate-Bloomer Member Posts: 249 ✭✭✭
Several of my rifles perform quite well to extremely well using assorted factory ammo.

I am new to reloading, but I plan to reload very soon! I've been reading all my manuals & handbooks, but there are so many powder choices, powder charges for any one weight of bullet, really, just how can that be? I mean, I realize its a compilation of recipes presented so one might be able to find a given load for his specific rifle, but........

My question is this,

How do these large ammo mfg's decide on which load for each specific grain of bullet that they market. For example, .270 Win. 130 Gr. & 150 Gr.

With all the different combinations available, what is their criteria for the most optimum powder, load weight, in any given cartridge?

They must be putting their money down on an OPTIMUM POWDER & OPTIMUM CHARGE WEIGHT for a given Cartridge? Their own R&D has discovered (this)+(that)= reasonably excellent accuracy in most modern rifles.

Is there any such data around for the average reloader, especially for a novice, such as myself, other than what the common reloading manuals list?

What are the classic powders/loads for the .270, 6.5x55mm, .308, 30-06, 7mmRM?

Any replies would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you

Comments

• perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1