In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Muzzleloading

SW 357MagSW 357Mag Member Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm new to the inline muzzleloaders. I bought one about 3 years ago and still have never shot it. I've decided I'm going to get back into muzzleloading. What type of primer do I use in these things? My manual says "209 Primer". I've seen these with the muzzleloading equipment, but would a shotshell primer be good to use? Are they the same thing? I have plenty of them on hand already. I know shotshell primers are called "209 primer" but you never know about these types of things. I'd rather be safe by asking than take any chances.

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• CubsloverCubslover Member Posts: 18,601 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    What powder are you using?

I'd recommend the 777 209 primers. Best there is for ML's.
    Half of the lives they tell about me aren't true.
  • SW 357MagSW 357Mag Member Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I've got some old Pyrodex I plan to use.
    edited November -1
    The triple 7 primers will work fine for that.

I've had decent luck with Winchester 209's and Remington Kleenbore's as well.

They're essentially the same, but I'd stick with primers that say #209, for Muzzle loading firearms.
  • SW 357MagSW 357Mag Member Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Ok Cubs, thanks.

I'll pick up a pack of the 777 next time I'm at Wallyworld.
    edited November -1
    If you don't mind spending some extra cash and your gun is rated for it...pick up some Triple seven powder as well. Cleans up with soap and water. Great stuff. Check the label for loading data. I don't think it is the same as normal BP or Pyrodex. I just use Pyrodex RS (Powder) out of my CVA Optima with Winchester primers, and have had no issues at all.
  • HandgunHTR52HandgunHTR52 Member Posts: 2,735