In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

H4895 in 7.62x39mm

jtmarine0831jtmarine0831 Member Posts: 908 ✭✭✭✭
Hello, I have been reloading for a few years now but now is my first time loading the 7.62x39mm. The limited info I have and the available powders I have I am wanting to use Hodgdon H4895. Hodgdon's manual and website show a starting charge of 27grs of H4895 and a MAX of 28grs for a 150gr pill.

My issue is that with 27grs I have a almost full case and a compression load with the seated bullet. I was under the impression that manufacturers listed loads as compressed or am I missing something here.

Any help would be great!

Thanks
Jeremy T.

EDIT: Thanks for the reply sandwarrior! I know that H4895 isn't ideal for this round but I have a ready supply and it is just for plinking. As far as tapping it down, I have been using a long drop funnel and tapping with a file handle and I still only have roughly an 1/8" from the powder to case mouth. I don't plan on reloading this caliber a lot but have started looking for other load data and more sutible powders. Thanks

Comments

• sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'll post what I posted on the Ask the Experts:

jtmarine0831,

Normally compression loads are listed so. But, it depends also on how much they tapped the powder down before they seated the bullet and whether or not you did. Try tapping the load down once you discharge the powder into the case.

I would think that 27 gr. of H4895 would be about right to start out. 28 as max seems a little low. Either way, you're not going to overpressure that case with H4895. And, either at max or minimum you aren't going to have a lot of room after the powder is put in.