In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Rifle Competition Sans NRA?

BriareosBriareos Member Posts: 30 ✭✭
Are there any US organizations dedicated to target competition (rifle; smallbore and high-power) other than the NRA? While I agree with some of their politics, I don't agree with all of them and was curious if there are other...How do I put this..."Neutral" organizations dedicated to rifle marksmanship.

I'm aware of the CMP, but their rifle program only allows for certain types of rifles.

Please don't point out my "newb-ness" if at all possible; I'm new to the competition shooting scene and just want to be involved with something I love to do.

Comments

• PA ShootistPA Shootist Member Posts: 689 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    As near as I can tell, NRA's politics are mainly to promote and preserve gun ownership and shooting. Most all the clubs I belong to and shoot at are NRA affiliated clubs; for trap, skeet, small-bore rifle, high-power rifle, pistol, and sporting clays. Many do not require NRA membership to participate. The only politics I hear at these clubs tend to be against the anti-gun types, those who would make it more difficult or even impossible to participate in shooting sports, no matter what stripe shirts the politicians wear. I am aware that one party tends to bear the most of the slings and arrows nowadays; it wasn't always necessarily so, at least way back in my youth. Maybe that could and should be changed by shooters who belong to that party??
  • BriareosBriareos Member Posts: 30 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Don't get me wrong, I don't have anything against the NRA. I just wanted to see what my options were.

Unfortunately my mother doesn't really like the NRA, for her reasons I suppose.
  • NwcidNwcid Member Posts: 10,674
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by PA Shootist