In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

7x57 loads please

raingaugeraingauge Member Posts: 156 ✭✭✭
I've been shooting a little Ruger 77 in 7x57 for a couple of years, and I've decided to do a little more with it. I loaded a bunch of left over stuff a couple of years ago, Barnes, Sierra, Speer, with some H450, mostly cleaning up the stuff I wasn't using in the .280 Anyhow, I've shot 9 or 10 deer with this little 7x57, and I like it.
The twist is 9 1/2 inches, so using Greenhill's formula, I've picked up some Sierra 170 grain Round nose bullets, should be close to a complimentary match. I'd like to send these little bullets out at 24 or 2500 fps. Anyone have some pet loads? I'm thinking of H414 or 4350 for powder, thought I would check with you foks first.
I dont load real fast, I'm still using an old Hollywood press, a Belding and Mull powder measure, Ohaus scales, you know, just the basics.
Thanks

Comments

• XXCrossXXCross Member Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I shot highpower matches for quite a few years with the 7x57 and most of my loads were with H-414 or Winchester 760. (same powder)
    Bullet weights under 150gr will respond to powders in the same range as 4895, those over that weight seem to favor powders in the burn range of 4350. All in all, it's hard to find a "bad" load listed for the 7x57.
  • sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    rainguage,

Welcome to the forum! this is my "new" favorite cartridge.