In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

30-06 BRASS

lee_danlee_dan Member Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭✭✭
I just got some(mil) and some of the headstamps go into the early 50's and late 40's. Is there a way you can tell if they were loaded with mercuric primers and even if they were, if they were only reloaded once would there be a problem. I know about all the maybe's and probably's and I'm not sure when the move to non-mercuric was but being so cheap I hate to toss them.Thanks

Comments

• lee_danlee_dan Member Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I got about 500 pcs. of 30-06 on E bay
    I am a novice reloaded and need some help ----
    I can't seem to resize this brass --
    put oil on them but on most I can't get
    the handle down ----
    I have a bolt action Weatherby and even the ones I get to size
    they seem tight in the chamber ---
    Please help
    Lee
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    A few questions.

1) what is the head stamp on the brass?
    2) What kind of "oil" are you using for lube? Do you mean case lube?
    3) how do you have the die adjusted in the press?
    4) what kind of press?
    5) what kind of dies?
  • sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    lee_dan,

One more question to add to Bpost's:

Were these rounds from an auto/semi-auto? Chambers tend to be a little on the large side for these. And when extracting the cases have been known to still expand just a little as everything comes loose during cycling. But, that depends on the type of gas system the rifle employs.
  • lee_danlee_dan Member Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    1. Head Stamps -- Assorted
    R.P Sprg - Winchester Sprg -F C Sprg -
    2. No I did not use Case Lub
    Used light weight machine oil --- canolla oil -