In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

22 bullets what do you load

UncleFuddUncleFudd Member Posts: 146 ✭✭✭
Hey folks;
I am new to the forum and realy would like some help.

I have been reloading for nearly 50 years (it is true) and for the past 6 yrs have been buying factory 22 cal bullets.
I am not a BR shooter but do want and get accuracy for my coyote and prairie dog loads.
I have just used up the last of 30,000 bullets which were mostly Hornaday, speer and winchester. Most of these were used for pr. dogs.
I and my brother load for all in my family which include my dad at 88 yrs and my grandson at 19 and myself, my two brothers and my son in between.

Here is my problem.
I just began shopping for more bullets and wanted to replace my stash with 55 gr boat tail soft points. Historically I have shopped for the least expensive as most give me the accuracy I need and want regardless of the manuf. We do the majority of shots at 200 to 400 yards when shooting P dogs.

I found the best prices for bulk orders at Midway but as it turns out, all of their "bulk" boxes are back ordered. When I checked with them and now some other distributors, I am hearing that none of them are going to have bulk shipping or orders in the future.
Have any of you found this to be the case?
Also or in addition, what are you guys loading for varmit shooting of this nature?

Any help or ideas and suggestions would be very much appreciated.

I hope to be able to help others with my participation here and look forward to getting to know some of you accordingly.

Thanks in advance.

UncleFudd

Comments

• Grunt2Grunt2 Member Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I buy Hornady 50gr V-max for 99% of my .223 shooting..Pretty darn hard to beat..
    Retired LEO
    Combat Vet VN
    D.A.V Life Member
  • richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650