In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Lake City Brass

Hi all, I am kinda new to the reload thing, although I have pretty much got the basics down. I recently bought some LC brass at our local gun show and my stanard large rifle primers will not fit the pockets. Are they small rifle primers for this case?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• husker12225husker12225 Member Posts: 7 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have the ability to obtain some lake city nickel brass,Can anybody
    say if this nickle brass any good for reloading.

Thank's For Any Info.
    edited November -1
    I have a bunch (5000 ++) of Lake City 87 brass in .308. I have been using it to load for my M60 and Fal and it works great. I also have a Remington 700 PPS that I need to do some more loading for. I have about 200 rd of Winchester brass that is now twice fired. I am wanting to load a lot of arround 500rds for my target gun. I want to use good components so this would meen buying all the stuff including new brass. If I did that it is going to cost me a ton. Do you think if I was to go through and weigh, trim and check the LC brass to get 500rds that matched it would be good or would I be wasting my time?

John
  • armilitearmilite Member Posts: 35,478 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    They probably have a crimp in the primer pocket that has to be removed. This is pretty standard for military brass. There are special tools for this or if you know what your doing it can be acomplished with a deburring tool.
    edited November -1
    Also you did not specify what caliber the brass was for .223 or .308???
    That can also make a difference.
    edited November -1
    Thanks what do I need to get or how hard is it to deburr them?
    edited November -1
  • jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1