In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

6mmbr question

I have been reloading for two years now and just had Dan Dowling build me a rifle 6mmbr with a .272 neck and is for lapua brass and have read many different opinions on neck tension. i was thinking of using 267 and 268 bushings for neck sizing. just wondering if this sounds right with all the experts out thier. and with a no turn neck, do you think that i should stsrt away from the lands? and if so, a .015/.020 jump. all i'm needing is a good place to start.

any pet loads you may have i would appreciate the information for powder/primer bullet combos. the rifle is a 26" hart 700 rim action 1 in 8 twist
thanks

Comments

• bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use about .002 neck tension and it works for me. Using a 105 grain A-Max pushed by 30.3 of Varget lit by a CCI SRM primer seems to make one itty-bitty hole out of my 8-twist 6BR.

It also shoots 80 Berger FB's real well using 31.3 of Varget, same primer.

All of my loads are just touching or use a .010 jamb into the lands for best results.
  • mrbrucemrbruce Member Posts: 3,374
    edited November -1
    Double check the neck size, in a few cases a .272 neck is a bit tight..
    Usually a bushing .002 or less is a good spot to start...
    .267-.268 is way to loose for a .272 neck... a .270 is good......
    I like RL-15 with the heavy bullets, but Varget is good along with a lot of others..
    Hard to not get a 6br to shoot with about any normal powder.....
  • reddog1981reddog1981 Member Posts: 9 ✭✭
    edited November -1