In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

303 Cal Accuracy

gunprofitgunprofit Member Posts: 157 ✭✭✭
I love my military rifles. I get great accuracy from my Swiss 7.5 rifles, Swede 6.5 rifles, Springfield 03 & A3 rifles and many others. But try as I may, I do not get good results from my 303 caliber rifles. I have a nice Enfield No4 Mk1 and Enfield P14. I have been reloading for 30+ years so I'm not a novice. I've tried every conceivable load you can think of. I have used .311 dia bullets and 3.12 dia, which seem to give better results. My issue is that my best groups at 100 yards are over 2.5 inches. The norm is closer to 3 inches. With all my other rifles my run of the mill groups are an inch or less. My question to everyone, is there such a thing as a target grade 303 rifle? Does anyone own a 303 caliber rifle that has accuracy bragging rights?

Comments

• brier-49brier-49 Member Posts: 7,021 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use Wolf Gold 174 gr FMJ in my #4 mk1 and do 1 inch at 100. I don't reload for the 303 so I really haven't tried any thing else.
  • BGHillbillyBGHillbilly Member Posts: 1,927 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    The first question is how are the bores? The Brits apparantly thought they were enigizer bunnies and still believed in volley fire to some extent and keep them in service way to long.
  • richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    Have you slugged your bore? I have one #4 that has a .315" groove depth, I have seen .317".

The .315" gun will shoot near MOA with .316" cast bullets.
  • AmbroseAmbrose Member Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I guess I can't be of much help--My best load for my Pattern 14 averages 2.14" and for the #4 it's 2.78". And I'm delighted with that! I can't shoot any better than that with iron sights.