In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Powder Recomendation

I am just getting started with my Dillon 550b. I will be loading .45 acp 230gr fmj and .223 Rem. 55gr fmj. I just bought all the equipment and now I am very low on funds. I would like to know which powders are most economical for each. I only use it for plinking so I don't need superior accuracy or super high velocity, I just need it to go bang. I would prefer a ball type or something that would meter well in my 550b. We do alot of shooting so it will be very high volume. Can anyone here help me decide on cheap propellants to start out with?

Comments

• bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    For the .45 bullseye gives the most loads per pound and is very accurate, it feeds well in automatic loaders. for the .223 look at some loading data in the manuals. H322 worked well for me. There are also discount surplus powders available online for reasonable prices that will serve your needs.

Welcome to reloading, remember, safety first!
  • haroldchrismeyerharoldchrismeyer Member Posts: 2,213
    edited November -1
    I like the Winchester 231 for reloading pistol ammo. It is a small ball type, and doesn't require a lot of powder per round. It meters better than most everything else that I have found in a progressive press powder measure. It is cheap per pound too.

I agree that surplus powders may be the way to go on the 223. It gets expensive using H4895, but that is usually what I use. Problem is I can buy ammo for not much more than the brass, primers, powder and bullets cost. I had plans to load a few thousand when I can find the right surplus powder.
  • dclocodcloco Member Posts: 2,967
    edited November -1
    Try the Accurate 2230C for your 223. Ball powder and very accurate for your 223. Also...reasonably priced.