In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

N133 in 6BR results

bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
This is the first testing I have done in the ENCORE 6BR using N133 powder.
There was a wind issue today that I am not good at reading but here is what I got.

75V-maxes 29.8gr N133
3101 FPS avg
44.57 ES
11.74 SD
HOT load. group was over 2" for 10 shots.

Nosler 70 BT 30.4gr N133
3171 FPS avg
26.65 ES
8.12 SD
Group was 1" for 10 shots, nice and round with three "flyers" that look like wind drift to me.

Nosler 70 grain match bullet
same load as above
3121 FPS avg
28.23 ES
SD 11.00
I shot the above bullet into two different five shot groups, one is a .372!!
This load is ABSOLUTELY MAX for my gun in cool temps.

Every load above was showing some level of primer cratering. Loads are going to be reduced further to see if that helps. Needless to say I am happy with the MV from the N133, thanks nononsense.

Any suggestions for reducing the ES and SD??

Comments

• nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    bpost1958,

Wind is always our nemesis when we want those itty-bitty groups.

First, what OAL are you using and how close to lands are you seated in this chamber? Is this a BR Norma chamber or is it the standard Remington chamber?