In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

What's the better sizing for accuracy..???

I am new to reloading and have recently purchased the RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme Kit. My question is this: are rounds made close to the maximum overall length more accurate than rounds made nearer the min. OAL. Again, I'm relatively new to relaoding and have not been able to find information in this area. My rifle data is as follows:

Model: Remington M700SS 5R Milspec
Barrel Length: 24 Inches
Caliber: .308 Winchester
Weight: 9 Pounds
Twist Rate: 11.25
Capacity: 4

Any help in the right direction would be greatly appreciated..

Thanx in advance, Cliff G

Comments

• DENWADENWA Member Posts: 390 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    In general yes.

Always? no.

I always start load development with MAX OAL. Then work to max length will fit in magazine and bolt close.

Just remember when changing OAL many dynamics change, just a few are:

1. Powder compression.

2. empty volume in the case

3. Contact (pushing on the rifling of the bore)

4. Neck tension on the bullet

In my view the 308 will perform better at or above MAX OAL and with near max Powder charges.

Your rifle was designed with a specific purpose in mind. 168-175gr HPBT pushed at the highest velocity the 308 can go. Why? Military stuff is cool.

Good luck and be safe with your first reloading attempts.
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Understanding the recommended Max overall is important. The max length covers two areas. the first is fitting into the magazine of repeating firearms. And, two to meet SAMMI specifications.

Your question is hard to answer because every rifle is different. your first decision is if you are going to single load or use the magazine. If you are going to magazine feed, then the max is the max for feeding purposes.