In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

.243 wssm vs. 6ppc

juddroyjuddroy Member Posts: 204 ✭✭✭
I helped my bro-in-law break in his kids .243wssm. When I started shooting 5 round groups,I was impressed at the grouping,.425 avg. @ 100 yd. This was a kid sized hunting rifle,with factory loads. I told him we've got to build some loads for this thing.Anyone have any idea how close this resembles the 6ppc cartidge.Might have to talk Savage into building some model 12 lrpv rifles in this caliber.I think there is a possibility of very near benchrest capabilities here.

Comments

• Options
    dcso3009dcso3009 Member Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    What kind of rifle were you shooting? I am shottping around for a good deer rifle for my wife. I was thinking of getting her a 308, but 243 could be a little better for her.
  • Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    juddroy,

"Anyone have any idea how close this resembles the 6ppc cartridge."

It doesn't closely resemble the 6PPC even though there have been lots of comments about the proportions and the "short/fat" conjecture.

The .243 WSSM has a case capacity of approximately 53-54 grains of H2O. For comparison, the .243 Win. has a capacity of 54 grains.

The 6PPC has a case capacity of approximately 32 grains of H2O.

The .243 WSSM has a rim diameter of 0.535" (standard mag. diameter 0.532") while the 6PPC rim is the oddball size of 0.445" which is between the small boltface (.223 Rem.) of 0.378" and the .308 boltface of 0.473".

There is only about 0.150" difference in length between the two with the PPC being shorter.