In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Cleaning and polishing brass

calrugerfancalrugerfan Member Posts: 18,209
Right now, I don't have a tumbler. Is it ok to load brass that hasn't been cleaned and polished? Last time that I went shooting outdoors, I picked up some 44 mag brass from the ground that was pretty dirty. I put it all in a ziploc bag with some warm, soapy water, "washed" them, then rinsed and dried them. Is that bad?

I'm new to reloading so I appreciate any advice.

Comments

• cash777cash777 Member Posts: 213 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    As long as there is no grit on them your good to go, or it Scratches the dies and brass. [:(] Some guys just like em bright, thats all. Best Dave
  • laylandadlaylandad Member Posts: 961 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I think that washing in soapy water is just fine. I would then size the brass and then use Birchwood Casey brass cleaner after I wash all dirt and grime away. With that said, make sure that the brass is dirt free before you size to prevent damage to your dies. That's what I did before I got a tumbler! I think that you will be just fine washing your brass. The only difference in the brass that I tumble vs. the liquid brass cleaner is the tumbled brass is completely scratch free and you can still see some scratches in the liquid. They still shoot the same, may not be as "pretty"!!!!

Eric
  • calrugerfancalrugerfan Member Posts: 18,209
    edited November -1
    Will dirt scratch TC dies? I would think that it would do more damage to the brass than the dies, right?

Also, this may all be for nothing. My buddy just said that I can bring my brass over and use his tumbler. He said that he has walnut and that media lasts a long time so there is no need to even buy media for him.
  • WarGamesWarGames Member Posts: 106 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1