In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Trouble with acuracy with my 22-250AI

snowy1snowy1 Member Posts: 67 ✭✭
Help.........the original factory loads were all shoooting in a 2 inch group when I fire formed the cases but after reloading it is hard to get on the target at 50 yards. Only 6 hits out of 20 and it was in a horizontal string measuring 3x8 inches. I admit I am new at reloading but can the wrong load cause that much difference or should I suspect something else such as the scope? Very frustrating and will appreciate any advise.........Snowy

Comments

• perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Buy another box of factory to see if they still shoot good group "try 3 Shots".This will validate the SCOPE and rifle combination question. if it still shoots good groups.Then look at your choice of bullet and powder charge for your reload. I suspect you are trying to go for MAX velocity and the bullet is coming apart before getting to the target. or the bullet weight is wrong for the TWIST in your barrel.
  • JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    if you truley are getting a 3x8 with a proven scope,..you have a serious issue somewhere. Sounds like a bad scope or loose rings or a horrible stock issue.

Did the cases form completely the first firing??

What was the load??

How much neck tension??

stock torqued correctly??
  • jtmarine0831jtmarine0831 Member Posts: 908 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by JustC
    if you truley are getting a 3x8 with a proven scope,..you have a serious issue somewhere. Sounds like a bad scope or loose rings or a horrible stock issue.

Did the cases form completely the first firing??

What was the load??

How much neck tension??

stock torqued correctly??