In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

How do I adjust iron sights on new Marlin 1894?

The owner of the gunshop/shooting range where I shoot is sort of a crotchety old type. He has insisted on taking my gun in the back room and making all the adjustments. We are chasing the sights all over the targets!

I was a machinist and think I can handle the job. I fully understand the princibles of; move the rear sight in the same direction you want the bullet impact to move and, vicee versee for the front sight. The question is HOW do I move them? Do you drive them over with a punch? The owner's manual says nothing on sight adjustment.

Comments

• brier-49brier-49 Member Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    this must be a trick question as i nave never seen a new firearm that needed windage adjustment.now as far as chasing all over the target, sounds like yor friend is using a 12# sledge and 2 ft bar for adjustment.us a small brass drift and light hammer and tap lightly.
  • Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    From your note it sounds like your doing the "shoot one and adjust" thing, STOP IT. The first thing you need to do is determine the average group size with the ammo your using, and weather a different ammo will produce better groups (this may take a second, known good shooter, to determine as we don't know whot your capabilities are). Now that we know what ammo your rifle likes, buy a bunch of that lot # and than we can start playing with the sights.

From a soft rest under the forearm and butt (NOT under tha barrel) fire a 5 shot group, using the same aiming point for each shot.
    Now, calculate the distance from the center of the group to the aiming point in both directions (vertical only and horz only).