In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

270wsm & 30-06

scottbscottb Member Posts: 65 ✭✭
I am relatively new at reloading. I've been focused on perfecting 357mag and 223 rem loads and think I got them dialed in for my applications, but am going to start trying to perfect loads for my 270wsm and 30-06 springfield. Has anyone found powders that seemed to be well suited for these cartridges? Anyone have loads that worked well in model 70's? Or powders that didnt do as well as others?

Comments

• Studebaker HawkStudebaker Hawk Member Posts: 55 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have not played with the WSMs as of yet, but with the venerable -06 you can't go wrong with IMR 4350. As you build experience and confidence in the -06 you will find that it will do a good job with about any bullet powder combination. That is one of the reasons it is better now than it was a century ago.
    Since you already have a 270, I see no reason to use bullets of less than 180 grains in weight, and heavy bullets will turn in their best results with the various 4350s and 4831s.
  • nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    scottb,

If you've been busy perfecting your loads on the other two cartridges then you should have at least a couple of reloading manuals that you have been using. If not, you need to get two or three for your reloading bench. These books are the best place to start when we begin loading a new cartridge. Buy used ones if you can't afford new ones, just get the most current ones that you can locate. The WSM data will only be found in the most current manuals and on the internet.