In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Resizing cases - 6.5 Creedmoor if it makes a diff

kimberkidkimberkid Member Posts: 8,857 ✭✭✭
I've been reloading 223, 308, 9mm, 45acp, and 8mm Mauser for over 2 decades and I've always used a full length re-sizing die ... I'm not a newbie to reloading.

I recently built an AR10 in 6.5 Creedmoor and I find myself in a position I've never considered before;

This is the only weapon I have in this caliber so this brass won't be used in any other weapon, do I need to full length resize these cases or can I just resize the necks?

I wasn't planning on reloading for it but the the cost of ammo was surprising and the performance of factory ammo was so dismal I don't have any other choice ... when I used my chronograph it varied over 400 fps and I had 3" groups at 100 yards. I had bought 3 boxes of this Hornaday 129 grain "Superformance" and was just disgusted.

So far I've only shot 1box of factory ammo then I bought 200 pieces of new brass and 500 projectiles. I've loaded and shot 50 hand-load rounds and with my very first trial batch I'm getting 1/2" MOA at 200 yards.

Anyway I'm getting ready to reload my 70 pieces of once fired brass ...
... So what say the GunBroker Brain Trust here on the reloading forms?
If you really desire something, you'll find a way ?
? otherwise, you'll find an excuse.

Comments

• charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It depends on your chamber. If the cases have lumps on them good chance you will be full length sizing in order to get it to cycle.

I had a Belgium Browning BAR in 06. It had a very tight and round chamber and would accept neck sized only brass flawlessly. It also spit them out so hot I couldn't pick them right up. No other autoloader I ever shot did that.