In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Lee Pro 1000, any good?

floorguy24floorguy24 Member Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm looking into reloading 44 Special pistol loads on a regular basis for my own use.

I have no reloading experience at all and have 2 questions;

1) Is the Lee Pro 1000 a good product to learn on?

2) Is the Lee Pro 1000 a good reliable tool for the long haul?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• gknaka2gknaka2 Member Posts: 461 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Start on a single stage to learn the basics and get the true "feel" of reloading so you master AND UNDERSTAND each step. There is no reason to start on a progressive not knowing how many rounds you will load.

Later you will probably want a turret press, but many people keep their original single stage for the decap/sizing stage or whatever. If you decide on a turret, Lee makes a good 4-hole for not that much.

If you are going progressive, the Dillon 550 is very hard to beat. I personally would not get the Lee 1000 as I have heard many people complain about them. Many have found the 1000 over complicated with very poor instructions which would be disastrous for someone just entering the hobby. However, do your research first before making your own conclusions. Lee makes things simple and cheap. I think the 1000 may be an example of a simple company trying to be too fancy. That being said, I do not have one so I have to recommend either the Dillon or Hornady, which seem to be staples.

I started with a Lee single stage (they sell them new for $30) and reloaded on it for about 10 years.

I now use a Dillon 550. I am probably one of the few that has a Lee Pro Auto Disk mounted to it instead of the Dillon measure. Just preference. You will see many people favor different setups.

Good luck and welcome to the hobby...it will consume you.