In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Reloading for M1 Garand

60DWLb460DWLb4 Member Posts: 20 ✭✭
I am new to reloading. Is there any difference in loading for an M1 Garand, than a hunting load for a bolt action 30-06?
Thank You

Comments

• charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The operating pressure and timing of the pressure curve is important. Loading data specifically for your rifle is highly recommended or you will be bending operating rods at the minimum.
    I like the 16something boatails.

http://masterpostemple.bravepages.com/M1load.htm

http://www.loaddata.com/members/search_detail.cfm?MetallicID=2713
  • 60DWLb460DWLb4 Member Posts: 20 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thank You very much.
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    46 grains of IMR 4895 pushing a 165 grain hunting bullet was a great load in my Garands. It is safe for the operating rod and has enough power to plant what ever you shoot with it.

For a target load seat a 168 SMK on that same load and see how she shoots.
    edited November -1
    Thank You bpost. Like I said I am new, what is a SMK? Also I have have
    a few hundred military FMJ rounds. I bought them 15 years ago. Does anyone know what the most common grain for this type of round is? Are there any rules against hunting with them?
    edited November -1
    Sierra Match King. What military? Are they in the grand magazine? US likely 150 or 172. Hunting big game with them is usually forbidden, small stuff like yotes or bunnies is usually ok.
  • 11b6r11b6r Member Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1