In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Bulging Shoulder Problem

victorj19victorj19 Member Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭
This is my first attempt at reloading the 243 Win. but not my first attempt at reloading bottle neck cartridges. The cases were cleaned, sized, trimmed and primed. Previously, I loaded a couple of dummy rounds as I always do (no primer or powder) with some Hornady 80 gr bullets (dia .242"/6.16mm) without any issues and adjusted the die for the proper OAL.

Today my attempt to load some with Sierra 100gr bullets (.241"/6.13mm) resulted in bulged case shoulders. The die is set to the top of the shell holder in an old rock chucker. I had turned the out side of the necks. Then I tried to create another dummy round case with an unturned neck and the 100 gr bullets with the same result. The powder level is below the case neck so that doesn't seem to be the problem.

There isn't an obstruction inside the die. It was a no go trying the dummy round with the 100gr in the rifle. I tried to resize the dummy round without luck.

I would reload the 80 gr bullets but do not have the recommended powder.

What's going on here? Should I just back the die out a 1/8 turn and re-adjust the seater plug? I can pull the bullets & powder but hate the idea of losing more brass and primers.