In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reload problem

use enough gunuse enough gun Member Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭✭✭
I had something happen today that's never happened in over 25 years of reloading. I loaded about 30 rounds for my BFR, cases were tumbled, polished, sized, and trimed. I loaded my standard load (45/70), Federal Large pistol magnum primer, and 32.5 grains of SR4759 under a Hornady 300 grain JHP. About the 10th round fired it had a real quite snap and didn't go off. After holding it in a safe direction for a minute or two I figured I'd remove the shell and take a look. The cylinder was locked up with the bullet halfway into the barrel. Right away I thought I'd forgotten to charge the case, (I've NEVER done that before). Well after using a cleaning rod to knock the bullet back into the case I removed the cartridge and broke it down with a kenetic bullet puller. The correct powder charge was in the case. From the look of the powder the primer just flashed over the powder turning some of the kernals a light green.
The powder is from the same 5 lb can I've been using the last year, it's only a few years old and not bad. 4759 is pretty easy to ignite and I'm at a loss to explain why this happened. I also had a good tight crimp on the caniler on the bullet. Any ideas or explainations?

Comments

• Options
    midnightrunpaintballermidnightrunpaintballer Member Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1