In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Powder, primers, availibility?????

HawkshawHawkshaw Member Posts: 1,016 ✭✭
I have been reloading for about 50 years, and have accumulate quite a reserve of both powder, and primers. I'm just finding out that there is almost none available. Where is it going this time??? THX

Comments

• bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The mystery is unsolved. Even the articles in the gun magazines simply do not add up. There is PLENTY of off shore capacity to produce what we are trying to buy.

There is no real explanation that makes sense. We have all the key ingredients for profitable business success, willing buyers, with money, seeking products. Yet for four years or more the products are largely unavailable.

My SWAG is the shortage is largely due to the federal government, not sure how but that warm quaint feeling of governmental involvement in the "shortage" is very strong.
  • carbine100carbine100 Member Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Online availability is improving. Primers are now pretty easy to find if you keep a check on the big sellers. (Wideners, Grafs, Powder, Valley, Midsouth....)

A lot of folks got caught without a safety reserve following last panic. They are now building that reserve and availability has suffered.

Secondly, availability shortage has caused many to re-evaluate their safety reserves and do some panic buying when they find it....

....kinda like .22 ammo light, only a whole lot more folks shoot .22 than reload.
  • NavybatNavybat Member Posts: 6,849 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    And now we know that USPS is buying more JHP rounds...our government is certainly buying up a lot of supplies.
  • charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1