In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Chronographs

batt43batt43 Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
What is your favorite chronograph?

Comments

• batt43batt43 Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm new to reloading and looking at chronographs. I have read good and * reviews for most of the chronographs I have looked up (Shooting Chrony, Pact, Oehler). Any suggestions for a "good" starter unit?
  • Rocky RaabRocky Raab Member Posts: 14,130 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The best is the Oehler, but it is certainly not a starter unit for most folks. The CED Millennium gets pretty good reviews, but I suppose you could find somebody bad-mouthing any of them for one reason or another. I ignore people who call a whole product line "junk" based on their use of one sample. Half the time, they haven't even read the instructions.

The higher-end Shooting Chrony models can be all some reloaders need, but other makes may have features you don't even know you need until you've used a chronograph a while. Buy the best you can afford, but be ready to outgrow it as you discover new needs.
    I may be a bit crazy - but I didn't drive myself.
  • jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    All I need is fps. I have a pencil, notepad, and calculator and can figure out average velocity, standard deviation, etc. from there.

Ergo a basic unit is enough for me. If you want the machine to do all this for you go for a more high end model.
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have the Chrony with the remote computer box and cord, I think it is the Master, I do not have the printer. If I had to do it all over, I would get the Chrony with the printer. It is nice to have printed records to attach to targets. After a couple of years you can look back and learn a lot from past strings.