In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Building a super accurate pistol

dannejdannej Member Posts: 478 ✭✭✭
Hi, I am thinking of getting or building a super accurate pistol. Expect to spend about $1,000.

Am I better off to buy a custom built gun, or build one myself (with help of friendly gunsmith).

I just started shooting PPC and this gun may not be suitable for PPC if I get a ported barrel.

Looking at Glock 34.
Any recommendations on barrel?
Anyone used their new red dot sight?

Does porting a barrel improve accuracy other then the reduced recoil?
Does porting reduce accuracy in a custom barrel?

Any recommendations on custom built .45s?

Comments

• perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    get forgemonkey to build you a 1911. IN MY OPINION you will learn with each pistol you Build but You have to have good machinist skills to build a 1911 and the equipment to do the work. you cant just buy a bunch of parts and build one There are
    VERY FEW NRA BULLS-EYE guns that you can purchase off the shelve.
  • MG1890MG1890 Member Posts: 4,649
    edited November -1
    The ultimate accurate pistols are "hand rifles". Start with an XP100. When you can outshoot an XP, come on back and we can talk more.
  • Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Porting does nothing to help accuracy.

$1000 is peanuts for a "super accurate pistol."
    I would look for a used PPC .38 revolver to get accuracy for so little.
  • NeoBlackdogNeoBlackdog Member Posts: 16,566 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1