In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

NEED 243 WIN HELP!!!!!

uni82uni82 Member Posts: 416 ✭✭
Ok, I was just bragging last week about my sweet 600 yard shot and saying im an amateur re loader. Well, this proves it. I just got done reloading my 30-06 when I decided to reload my 243. I trimmed the cases to spec and lubed some up for resizing. I made sure the die just kissed the press ram, then did one more 1/8th turn. I re sized a case and the bolt didn't close. I then turned it clockwise one more 1/8th turn making it 1/4 from the first initial touch of the press ram. It fit perfect, very easy to close the bolt. I locked the nut on it making sure the sizing die didn't move at all. I then took case two, sent it through the die, wiped it off of the lube and put it in my rifle. The bolt wound not close. I checked the length, it is perfect.

After repeating this process about 5 times, this pattern always happened. The first case would re size perfect with the bolt closing very easily and then the next one wouldn't even close the bolt!!!!

I tore apart my sizing die only to discover that it had been teflon taped with a lot of rust. I lubed it up so it spun a little easier and steel wooled it to get the rust off. I put it all back together, and reset the die. Tried the process again and again, the first case would fit perfect the bolt closes with no over pressure, the way a bolt should. Then the second case, the bolt wouldn't close. I am really baffled.

As stated above and in previous posts, I am an amateur reloader and have only loaded 3 calibers. I have NEVER encountered this problem before. Any one know what I am doing wrong? I think it is something very simple.

It is a ruger M77 MarkII. Only 20 rounds have been through it (to break in the barrel and sight it in with factory bullets).

Thanks guys. :)

-JD

Comments