In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Rookie question

Guys, I have an exceptionally accurate 7mm-08 that I have been reloading for about 4 months now. To save money, and keep my buddies 7mm-08 brass and mine separate, I began resizing some old 308 brass down. Accuracy has went to hell in a hand basket. What I am wanting to know is if the 308 brass is the problem. I suspect it to be so, since all other load components are the same. Also, if it is the problem, why is it? Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks, Mark

Comments

• mrbrucemrbruce Member Posts: 3,374
    edited November -1
    Brass lots can and will vary a lot weight wise... The new formed 308 brass is more than likely the problem because of that... If you still plan on using the 308 brass just rework the load data and all will be well again..
  • MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,961 ******
    edited November -1
    ALSO CHECK NECK THICKNESS, .30 CAL TO 7MM SHOULDN'T MATTER THAT MUCH BUT..........
  • JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by MIKE WISKEY
    ALSO CHECK NECK THICKNESS, .30 CAL TO 7MM SHOULDN'T MATTER THAT MUCH BUT..........

that would be my first move as well. If the brass was thicker than the original 7-08 brass, your neck tension will have changed by a fair amount.
  • sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by JustC
    quote:Originally posted by MIKE WISKEY

that would be my first move as well. If the brass was thicker than the original 7-08 brass, your neck tension will have changed by a fair amount.