In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Tumbling cases: How long?

JackBwrJackBwr Member Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭
Hey guys. I just ordered a Hornady tumbler from Cabelas along with some nut shell media because somebody told me it worked the best. I also ordered some polish to add with it. Supposedly a couple cap fulls dumped in with the media polishes the brass like new.

I've never used one before so I had a couple questions. First off, how much time should I let the brass tumble for? Assuming I have it loaded with 3 to 400 .45 casings. Mainly full.

Is it better to not pack it full? Will it do a better job if there's more meda and more room?

How much media does it take to fill the pot? I ordered 17 lbs so I'd have a decent amount on hand. 1/2 lb, 1 lb?

How long does the media last? Can you use the same stuff for a few batches? I read a comment that someone ran thousands of brass cases through one without changing the media.

Can't wait to get this thing.

Comments

• Bubba Jr.Bubba Jr. Member Posts: 8,176 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    There are a lot of variables to determine the time needed to clean cases. Some of them are, how dirty the cases are, how tightly they are packed in the tumbler, how much media vs. how many cases you put in the tumbler, how clean you want the cases, etc.

I've never used polish with my walnut media, so I can't answer any questions about that. I've only added polish with my corn cob media. In order to get proper distribution of the polish in media, put just the media in the tumbler, add your polish, and let it vibrate for about 15 min, before adding the cases.

I get good results when I have the tumbler about 3/4 full. You'll know it's too full if you don't see the cases flow from the bottom to the top around the outer edge of the tumbler.

Good Luck. [:)]