In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

7mm Rem Mag reloading ???

4406v4406v Member Posts: 317 ✭✭✭
I am new to reloading and have a few questions for the experts.

I started reloading with the Hornady Third edition manual.I loaded rounds for IMR4831 using 154gr Hornady SST bullets.It shows the max load to be 65.4gr and 3,000 fps.I loaded rounds for 2700,2800,2900, and 3,000fps and went to the range.I found the 3,000fps load gave me the tightest group.I found no evidence of casing damage after close inspection.

Last weekend I went to Cabela's and bought more powder.While I was there I picked up the 9th edition Hornady manual.When I checked the load data it lists the max load for IMR4831 and 154gr bullets as 59.1gr and 2,800fps.Is it safe to continue to use the 3,000fps loads?Or should I follow the most current manual.

Comments

• MIKE WISKEYMIKE WISKEY Member, Moderator Posts: 9,961 ******
    edited November -1
    a LOT of manuals have been lawyer'ed up, if it works, it works.
  • charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    4831 is fairly slow. The 264 Win Mag can hold more of it than is good for it. Back in the day I did not even weigh it. Fill a 06 case full, stomp on a bullet and let it rip. A 5 gallon bucket of pulled 172 gr boat tails (a cent each) and many paper lunch bags of 4831 ($2/#).

For my 7 Rem Mag I load almost a full case of T870 and a 162 boat tail. I think ball powder(s) burns cooler and will help prolong barrel life. They also run nicely in powder measures.

Loading data is written/published to be safe for all guns. The newer strain gage method of pressure measurement does a better job of catching the spikes than the old copper crusher method IMHO.